UCR

Department of Botany & Plant Sciences



Research Academics & Staff


The Department of Botany and Plant Sciences has a diverse set of academics, researchers, scientists and other laboratory personnel who are actively engaged in research. Our Academic Coordinators power the IIGB and CEPCEB cores and the Plant Transformation Research Center. Other research staff are involved in research programs of individual faculty members.

 Name/Title/ContactAffiliation
 

ALLSMAN, Lindy

Lab Assistant

lindy.allsman@ucr.edu

Darrel Jenerette
 

ALVAREZ, Juan R.

Agricultural Technician

juan.alvarez@ucr.edu

Mikeal L. Roose
David Carter

CARTER, David

Academic Coordinator
Director, Microscopy and Imaging Core

david.carter@ucr.edu

Institute for Integrative Genome Biology
 

CASTILLO, Carlos

Junior Specialist

carlos.castillo-londono@ucr.edu

Martha Orozco-Cardenas
 

CHERBOWSKY-CORKIDI, Lea

Assistant Specialist

lea.corkidi@ucr.edu

Don Merhaut
Clay Clark

CLARK, Clay

Staff research Associate III

clay.clark@ucr.edu

Institute for Integrative Genome Biology
Holly Eckelhoefer

ECKELHOEFER, Holly

Staff Research Associate IV

holly.eckelhoefer@ucr.edu

Institute for Integrative Genome Biology
 

FEDERICI, Claire

Staff Research Associate

claire.federici@ucr.edu

Mikeal L. Roose
 

FOCHT, Eric

Staff Research Associate

eric.focht@ucr.edu

Mary Lu Arpaia
 

HAYES, Jordan

HPC Linux Systems Administrator

jordan.hayes@ucr.edu

Thomas Girke
Glenn Hicks

HICKS, Glenn

Academic Administrator
Research Plant Biologist

glenn.hicks@ucr.edu

Institute for Integrative Genome Biology
 

HOLZER, Frances

Staff Research Associate

frances.holzer@ucr.edu

Linda L. Walling
 

HORAN, Kevin

Visiting Assistant Researcher

kevin.horan@email.ucr.edu

Thomas Girke
 

JABLONSKA, Barbara

Staff Research Associate

barbara.jablonska@ucr.edu

Patricia S. Springer
 

JAGANATHA, Venkateswari

Assistant Specialist

venkateswari.jaganatha@ucr.edu

Martha Orozco-Cardenas
 

JIA, Ning

Junior Specialist

ningj@ucr.edu

Zhenbiao Yang
Tracy Kahn

KAHN, Tracy

Principal Museum Scientist

tracy.kahn@ucr.edu

Mikeal L. Roose
 

KARP, David

Assistant Specialist

david.karp@ucr.edu

Tracy Kahn
Toan Khuong

KHUONG, Toan

Associate Specialist

toan.khuong@ucr.edu

Carol Lovatt
 

KOKSAL, Abdurrahman

Senior Nursery Technician

abdurrahman.koksal@ucr.edu

UCR Botanic Gardens
 

LIN, Deshu

Junior Specialist

deshu.lin@ucr.edu

Zhenbiao Yang
 

LIU, Xigang

Visiting Assistant Researcher

liu.xigang@ucr.edu

Xuemei Chen
 

MORGAN, Stephen

Senior Museum Scientist

stephen.morgan@ucr.edu

UCR Botanic Gardens
 

NEGM, Fayek

Assistant Specialist

fayek.negm@ucr.edu

James Baird
Martha Orozco-Cardenas

OROZCO-CARDENAS, Martha

Academic Coordinator

martha.orozco-cardenas@ucr.edu

Plant Transformation Research Center
Songqin Pan

PAN, Songqin

Academic Coordinator in Proteomics

songqin.pan@ucr.edu

Institute for Integrative Genome Biology
Sang-Youl Park

PARK, Sang-Youl

Associate Specialist

sangyoul.park@ucr.edu

Sean Cutler
Dennis Pittenger

PITTENGER, Dennis

CE Extension Advisor

dennis.pittenger@ucr.edu

 
Chandrika Ramadugu

RAMADUGU, Chandrika

Assistant Project Scientist

chandrika.ramadugu@ucr.edu

Mikeal L. Roose
 

SALVATO, Teresa

Assistant Museum Scientist

teresa.salvato@ucr.edu

J. Giles Waines
Andy Sanders

SANDERS, Andy

Senior Museum Scientist

andrew.sanders@ucr.edu

UCR Herbarium
 

SCHIAVON, Marco 

Assistant Researcher 

marcos@ucr.edu

James Baird 
 

SIEBERT, Toni

Museum Scientist

toni.siebert@ucr.edu

Citrus Variety Collection
 

SIEVERT, James

Staff Research Associate

james.sievert@ucr.edu

Mary Lu Arpaia
 

STONE, Neil

Staff Research Associate

neil.stone@ucr.edu

Mikeal L. Roose
 

VAN DE VEN, Mien

Staff Research Associate

wilhelmina.vandeven@ucr.edu

Natasha Raikhel
 

WANAMAKER, Steve

Programmer/Analyst

steve.wanamaker@ucr.edu

Timothy J. Close
 

WILLIAMS, Timothy

Staff Research Associate

timothy.williams@ucr.edu

Mikeal L. Roose

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Department & Program Information

Department of Botany & Plant Sciences
2142 Batchelor Hall

Tel: (951) 827-4619
Fax: (951) 827-4437
E-mail: bpschair@ucr.edu

Plant Biology Graduate Program
CNAS Grad Student Affairs Office
1140 Batchelor Hall

Tel: (800) 735-0717
Fax: (951) 827-5688
E-mail: Laura.mcgeehan@ucr.edu

Footer